Dear Sisters, Having A Bad Day ?

Today I wanted to share with you something that I learned recently in my life that I think is important because it kind of changed a repressed/discouraging mindset that I had. A few days ago I was not having one of the best days, in fact I think it was one of the most difficult days in school that I have had in a while. I was feeling emotionally and mentally drained not from school itself but the negative energy ( such as worrying, frustration and anxiety ) that I had internalized that affected my experience of school that day. Well, later on that day, what I realized was that it was okay for me to recognize that this was not a good day for me and that I really was sad and disappointed about the day itself. This is what I want to tell you: Sometimes we think, well I know that I do, that “hey somebody out there is worst off than me” and that “I JUST NEED to be content” but as true as those statements are, it does not mean that the trials, struggles, challenges that you are going through are insignificant. You see, God does not say ” Oh, you think your day was bad, LOOK at your neighbor and see how bad they got it, you should be X“. God does not compare you, any of us, to anybody else. The Lord gives us our own set of trials, challenges and struggles and sure while they may not be as “bad” as somebody else, that does not mean we are to denounce how we are feeling. You can be content and realize how blessed you are ( not apart from God go) AND still acknowledge that hey maybe your day was not so good and maybe you are going through something that is tough in your life. God does not want us to not come to him because we feel that our problems are insignificant comparatively & that our feelings are just negative; in these moments he wants us to come to him so that we can be comforted. The bible says in 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 : “Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; 4 Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.”

So, if you are having a bad day, don’t dismiss it; bring it to God and let him comfort you. He’s not going to turn you away and say that you are just being “discontent” with your life. Yes, we all do need to learn to be content, regardless of circumstance, AND we also all need to be comforted at one time or the other. If you need to cry, CRY. Don’t tell yourself that “it’s not something worth crying about”! If it hurts you, it’s all right to cry about it and to be comforted about it…whatever it may be. If you are feeling sad, angry, frustrated, let the Lord know what’s going on so that you may be comforted. Our pain is real and it matters to God. We COMPARE but God does not. So be content (contentment comes from God ( not apart from him)  so SEEK him) and be comforted. He gives each of us our own battles to fight and just because your battle may not be as “hard” or “bad” as somebody else’s, does not mean it is EASY.

With love,
Bre

2 comments

  1. sistersaliandshay · January 17, 2015

    James 1:12 and John 16:33 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • G.B.Y.S · January 17, 2015

      Thank you for commenting with these uplifting and positive verses! God has surely overcomed the world…Amen 🙂

      Have a nice day~

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

